Concretopia and My Final Piece

During the start of the year I took part in the Concretopia material project which was very interesting. The main aim of this project was to look at the built environment around us.

During the project I was introduced to the term ‘Brutalist architecture’-which was a style of architecture that included ruggedly designed brickwork and exposed concrete. Here is some of the brutalist architecture I looked at.

William Mitchell-Leon House
William Mitchell-Wall Mural
Victor Pasmore-Apollo Pavillion 1969
Spomenik (Podgaric, Croatia) , 2006

I began by taking unique photographs of architecture around the city which would later be made into screen prints and small sculptures. while paying close attention to angles, depth, levels and marks. When taking these photographs the focus was to think about the term ‘Phsychogeography’-which is the study of what is going on in sight, and how it affects you.

In regards to my final piece, rather than using the screen printing process as a skill to make the piece I decided to evolve the idea behind the project to influence my work. I thought the idea of Phsychogeography would be interesting to look at based on how  we create environments within dreams.

My final piece is a sculpture of a dreamlike environment which was inspired by the brutalist architecture approach. I have included exposed concrete blocks which are places amongst the landscape-this I thought would depict a dreamlike environment where the landscape is surreal and unusual. I wanted to explore how this surreal landscape would be created within a dream based on memories of architecture from reality.

PHOTOS OF FINAL SCULPTURE

Leave a Reply

