Surreal Cities

My further research on dreams has led me too look at how we create the environments around us while in the ‘dream world’. After looking at surrealist artists such as Salvador Dali and Rene Magritte I found that their work aims to depict the kind of places we would see within our dreams. The juxtaposition between the landscapes and objects really plays on the surreal feeling of the works. Therefore I wanted to take my idea of creating small cities or utopias and apply some of the surreal aspects that these artists have used.

I knew I wanted to use the urban environment within my work so I came up with the idea of designing popular cities based on their nicknames. For example, New York is commonly known as ‘The Big Apple’, Chicago-‘The windy city’, etc…

Based on this idea I generated a series of small maquettes each inspired by the nickname of a city. I uses mostly paper, cardboard and found objects to construct each one. I felt making these 3D pieces would produce new and interesting ideas in which I could develop further into my final pieces. Here are some of the outcomes from the work I produced.

After making these small maquettes, I found that these surreal looking cities were a good depiction of what I imagined a ‘dreamworld’ to be like. I tried to include surreal aspects such as the large apple placed in the centre or the falling over landscapes to play on the idea of a dreamlike environment.

 

 

Leave a Reply

