Final Outcome

I have learnt new creative skills as well as group working skills. The collaborative aspect has taught me how to engage with other people within the art sector to help with or even use them as a tool to better my artwork. The group work has also strengthened my personality as an artist when creating collaborative artwork.

Throughout the whole field module completing the different hub based on the theme of light I have learnt many techniques and ways of working with light and colour. The hub that I enjoyed the most was ‘Shadow play’ which contributed to the idea of my individual final outcome for the theme of light. I have taken skills such as experimentation with the projectors to create this piece.

Although I haven’t used any techniques I had learnt from the field hubs I have used the idea of of projecting shadows onto the wall which inspired me to create this piece. I have used inspiration from artists Tim Noble and Sue Webster to base my design around. Here are some photographs on the construction of the piece and some of the processes I used.

Here is where I drew and cut out silhouettes of people falling to suggest falling within a dream. I used thin card so that they wouldn’t break when assembling the piece.

 

This is the base of the sculpture that I made which would support the aluminium wire. I used thing wood to make the frame and sprayed a thick piece of cardboard to place inside ,this would allow me to position the subjects in the specific positions without them moving around.

 

Here are the photos of the materials I used along with how i went about achieving the silhouette of a person laying down. I stuck down the base to prevent movement while was working in order to accurately fill the outline. The outline was stuck to the wall behind the base where the shadow would be projected.

 

Here is some photographs of my final outcome with the LED light pointed at it. I was pleased with this end result and started to play around using different lights. I found that when moving the light in a vertical motion the projected shadows appear as if they are falling which is the effect i was trying to create with the cardboard cut outs. I accidentally came across this while experimenting with different angles of the light and is something I would use if I was to take this piece further.

Leave a Reply

