Screen Printing

As part of the Concreteopia material project I learnt how to make prints using the screen printing technique. Today I attended a quick workshop explaining the steps to making a screen print. First I had to choose one or two of my best photos in which i thought would make an interesting print.

Here are the three that i will be using, I have taken the photos into Photoshop to adjust the levels and contrast so that the image is good to work with.

img_0326 img_0297 img_0307-copy

After following the screen printing process i began my first print. As a tester I printed it first onto acetate. I found that the print didn’t come out as expected and was unusable. The problem was that the images contained too many grey tones which darkened the screen print. I figured I had to adjust the images further and start the process over again.

img_0391 img_0393

img_0392 img_0394

img_0396

Leave a Reply

